Buying chocolate, candy or lollies as a gift or just want to indulge yourself? Then enjoy your chocolate fix without eating rainforest-destroying palm oil! If you are ever in doubt look for the prefixes: LAUR, STEAR, GYLC and PALM in the ingredients list on packaging – this is most likely palm oil. Another tip is to shop for locally produced chocolate and vegan chocolate (if you happen to be vegan).
Guess what @Nestle @CadburyUK I nolonger eat your #chocolate as u cause #deforestation for #palmoil and #cocoa. Stop this right now! Until you do I go #palmoilfree and #Boycott4Wildlife as animals mean more to me than you ever will!Tweet
Did you know that palm oil is one of the world’s most destructive crops, as it can only be harvested in tropical rainforest and peatland landscapes where the highest concentration of endangered species live? The majority of palm oil and soy is fed to farm animals that people eat. This is why palm oil is an animal rights issue. And it is for these reasons that palm oil is NOT considered vegan by animal activists. It may be a plant-based, but it is NOT VEGAN. Brands claiming that their products are plant-based AKA vegan but yet still using palm oil are simply greenwashing extinction and ecocide!
Here are some dairy chocolate and vegan dairy-free chocolate without palm oil. This list was created by Mighty Earth and vetted for cocoa sustainability.
Palm Oil Free Chocolate and Confectionery
Liberation Foods: chocolate, spreads, nuts.
Raw Gorilla: Cereals, snacks, chocolate
True Gum: chewing gum, mints, sweets.
Learn which eggs to devour and which to spit out in disgust and then tweet about!